ARC Review: The Traitor’s Tunnel by C.M. Spivey

Title: The Traitor’s Tunnel34031351

Author: C.M. Spivey
Genre: Fantasy

Publication date: June 20, 2017
Purchase links: Kindle Edition

Rating: N/A

Distinctive qualities: asexual main character, a relationship between two men, a relationship between two women, magic, witches.

Summary:

Witch-blooded robber Bridget has made a reputation for herself in the capital city, but she’s not interested in the attention of the Thieves’ Guild–and she’s not bothered by the rumors of urchin kidnappings, either. With winter coming, she’s looking out for herself and no one else.

Until she picks the wrong pocket, and recognizes her estranged brother Teddy.

Young craftsman Theodor arrives in the capital ready to take the final step toward his dream career as Lord Engineer of Arido. His apprenticeship with a renowned city engineer comes with new rules and challenges, but it’s worth it for the exposure to the Imperial Council.

While spying on her brother, Bridget overhears a secret meeting that reveals a cruel plot. After more than a decade apart, Theodor and Bridget must reunite to stop a traitor whose plan threatens not only their city, but the whole empire.

Set seven years before the events of From Under the Mountain, The Traitor’s Tunnel is the story of two young people presented with a choice–to protect themselves, or to protect others–the consequences of which will change their lives forever.

 

Review:

Thanks to C.M. Spivey for my ebook copy of The Traitor’s Tunnel!

If you read my posts for my April TBR and ARCs I haven’t read yet, you know I was extremely excited about reading The Traitor’s Tunnel. Unfortunately, I was let down. I don’t have a lot to say about the story, so this review is going to be short. Here are my thoughts:

I liked that it was the norm to use gender-neutral pronouns for people whose gender was unknown. I also liked that there was a relationship between two men, and a relationship between two women. That was it. I didn’t enjoy anything else.

My problem with the story is probably an effect of it being a novella. We didn’t get to know the characters at all and the world was widely unexplored (I know that there is a full novel set in this world; maybe that is better developed than this). For those reasons, I wasn’t able to become attached to anything or anyone, and I found myself feeling bored whenever I tried to read.

Additionally, there is a paragraph at the very end of the novella that compared an actual eye condition (myopia) to naivety, which struck me as ableist. I really don’t like when people use words such as “blinded” to signify ignorance.

I might read more from this author in the future because I think the world he created has a lot of potential to be amazing. But for now, it’s time for us to part.

Leave a Reply

