ARCs I Haven’t Read Yet

If you’re like me, you probably go on Netgalley just to take a look at all the books that are available… and then end up requesting half of them. There’s something about Netgalley that makes every book seem like it would be a good one. Because of this, I’ve ended up with a few ARCs that I need to read and review. Some of them I’ve had since I started my first book blog in early 2016 (I know, shameful).

Here’s a list of them, from oldest newest:

  1. The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig: I’m ashamed to admit that I’ve had this ARC since January 2016. I don’t what happened to make me put off reading this book while I still had my other blog. This was one of my most anticipated books of 2016; yet the second book is already out and I’ve read neither.
  2. The Neverland Wars by Audrey Greathouse: This is an ARC that I’ve had since June 2016. I requested it because of a BookTube video that I watched in which this book was reviewed. It sounded really good and I wanted to read it right away. Clearly, that didn’t happen.
  3. Done Dirt Cheap by Sarah Nicole Lemon: I acquired this ARC way more recently than the other ones, but my review of it is overdue anyway; it came out on March 7. This book is one that I actually didn’t have any interest in, but an author live-tweeted her experience with the book and I got carried away by her enthusiasm. Not-so-great reviews of this book have surfaced ever since, so I’m sad I got it in the first place.
  4. Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray: I got this one impulsively because it was on Read Now for the first 500 people who wanted it. It does sound pretty cool, though. I thought I’d get to read and review it on time for its release, but then university got in the way of my reading and blogging.
  5. The Girl with the Red Balloon by Katherine Locke: There’s kind of a funny story behind this one. A lot of people on Twitter were tweeting about getting declined for this book, so I decided to request it to “join the club.” They all have more followers than me, so I never thought my request would be approved. But it was. The good news is that this one comes out on September 1st, so I can still get a review up on time.
  6. Draekora by Lynette Noni: Draekora is the third book in a series by an Australian author. A BookTuber I watch kept talking about this series, which really sparked my interest. The thing is: I don’t have the first two books in the series yet. I got Draekora because it was on Read Now, and I knew I wanted to read the series. (Fortunately, I still do.) Out of every book on this list, this is probably the one that will take me the longest time to get to. (Check out the series, though; it sounds very good!)
  7. Haven by Rebekah Weatherspoon: This is another case of getting carried away by someone else’s praise for the book. A lot of the people I follow on Twitter were talking about it and giving it 5 stars around the same time. I thought, “Maybe I’ll like it too.” It’s erotica, which I don’t like at all. I really need to learn to resist the hype.
  8. The Traitor’s Tunnel by C.M. Spivey: I got this ARC from the author, not from Netgalley. And I’m currently reading it! I’ll probably have finished it by the time this post is published, so keep an eye out for my review. The main character is panro-ace and one of the characters reminds me a lot of Lila Bard. This novella is coming out in June 20th, so check it out, maybe? ☺
  9. Coming Up for Air by Miranda Kenneally: I requested this one recently because the main character is a swimmer, and I’m very interested in books about athletes lately. It’s part of a series, but I think it can be read as a standalone. The release date is July 1st, so I still have time to read and review it.
  10. The Hamilton Affair by Elizabeth Cobbs: This is a book about Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schuyler. Do I really need another reason to want to read it? The answer is no. This one came out almost a year ago, but it was under Read Now on Netgalley. I had to have it.

Phew, that’s it! Those are all of my unread ARCs. *wipes sweat off brow* I created a Goodreads shelf for the books I want to read this summer; all of these ARCs are on it, with the exception of Draekora. I don’t know if I can read them all in two months, but I definitely want to read all of them before the year ends.

Do you have any ARCs waiting to be read? If so, which one are you most excited to read?

5 thoughts on “ARCs I Haven’t Read Yet

  1. *whispers* I so feel you on being tempted by that Netgalley catalogue…

    I too have been carried away with getting but right now, I’ve only got 9 ARCS left to read! And I don’t plan on requesting new ones until I finish them! They’re all fantasy and really interesting, I’ve just been distracted with Blog Tours and other review copies, tehee. The ones I’m most excited to read are: “A Mortal Song” by Megan Crewe, “Burning Bright” by Melissa McShane and “Noir” by Jacqueline Garlick. I’ll be reading them soon and I’m gonna be starting with “A Mortal Song” and I’m so ready for it! >:D

    Anyway, good luck for both of us on reading at least half of our ARCS this summer!
    L. @ Reviews by Leeve

    Like

Leave a Reply

