Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Things on my Reading Wishlist

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic Ten Things on our Reading Wishlist, which is basically ten things that I want to see in books.

  1. Characters who belong in the LGBTQIA+ community. Even in books in which the main character is part of the community, it’s uncommon for anyone else (aside from their love interest) to be a part of the community as well. I want that to change.
  2. Girls who support girls. The popular mean girl trope is so overdone, and for some reason it’s way more present than girls who don’t see other girls as competition. Give me girls being nice to each other, sticking up for each other when people bring up the “you’re not like other girls” cliché (in whatever form), uplifting them instead of putting them down, girls being friends and girls supporting girls they don’t even know. Give me all of it.
  3. Soft boys. I want to read about smart boys, nice boys, shy boys, boys supporting boys, boys who have feelings and don’t think they are less masculine because of it, feminist boys, boys who shut down toxic masculinity, etc.
  4. Music in books. Give me all of the musicians, their life on tour and in the studio or on a theater stage.
  5. Acting in books. I also want more actors in books! I’ve only seen things like, “Our characters are lovers and we’re falling for each other” and “Normal person falls for a famous actor.” But I want books that deal with the process of creating shows, movies and plays. I want acting as a real thing, not as the background for a love story.
  6. Respectful diversity in books. Books need people of color, people who belong in the LGBTQIA+ community, various religious backgrounds, people who are not able-bodied or neurotypical, various cultures, etc. I want to see all of these things being normalized in books, and not just to create a “problem” for the main character or to help characters realize that their lives are good or that other people need saving. Give me books with badass people who are not all white, straight, cis, able-bodied, allosexual, alloromantic, etc.
  7. World-building. It’s very common for the world in a book to be completely brushed over, which is sad because there are some really great fictional worlds out there. I want to know more about them.
  8. Politics. I took a History class at university this semester and realized I really enjoy political topics. So yes, I want more politics in books.
  9. Underwater setting. The ocean is so vast and mysterious, yet there are so few books set in the ocean. Imagine all of the creatures (mermaids!!!), the atmosphere, just… everything. I’m so desperate for a book that takes place in the ocean and is about the ocean that I started planning to write one years ago. Yep.
  10. Puerto Rico. I almost forgot this one, but it’s extremely important to me: I want books set in Puerto Rico, with Puerto Rican characters, preferably by Puerto Rican authors. I’ve only ever read two YA books (or series, in one case) with Puerto Rican characters: More Happy Than Not, which I didn’t love, and Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan, which I love but doesn’t actually have a lot to do with Puerto Rico. I need a book set in Puerto Rico almost as much as I need air.

I hope you enjoyed this post! What’s at the top of your reading wishlist?

Leave a Reply

