April Wrap Up + May TBR

If you saw my March wrap up, you know I didn’t read a lot. April was that kind of month as well. I barely read anything, even on the occasions when I had free time. These are the two books I read in April:

32933947  34629572

  1. Noteworthy by Riley Redgate: This book was a fun story about a girl who pretends to be a boy so she can join an a cappella group. I really liked it! There were a lot of things that, realistically, do not make sense. I tried to put that aside and managed to enjoy the book a lot. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars. You can check out my review of Noteworthy here.
  2. Better At Weddings Than You by Mina V. Esguerra: Unfortunately, my reading month went downhill when I picked up this book. I borrowed it from the Kindle Owner’s Library. It was getting so many good reviews and I love wedding planning. What could go wrong? The answer is a lot. I didn’t like the main character, Daphne, at all, the love interest was so-so, and the side characters weren’t very interesting. The wedding planning aspect was not very prevalent in itself; it was only there to bring Daphne and the love interest together. Additionally, Daphne was supposed to be the best wedding planner around  but… she kind of sucked? She had this obsession with convincing her client to get married, even though she knew her client was not in love with her fiancé and didn’t want to admit it to herself. Every time her love interest tried to talk to Helen (the client), Daphne chastised him and went on about how Helen realizing she didn’t want to get married would ruin the wedding and Daphne’s career. She had zero compassion for her client and never even saw her, which makes no sense because she’d just taken over planning her wedding. They should have to at least talk to each other on a regular basis. *takes a deep breath* Can you tell I really didn’t like this book? I gave it 2 out of 5 stars.

On to my TBR for May! I’m almost done with classes for the semester and I’ve started trying to read at least 25 pages every day, so May is bound to be a better reading month than March and April. I’ve already read one book, which is exciting. Here are the books I want to read in May:

34031351 34754118 20764879 18006496  10194157

  • The Traitor’s Tunnel by C.M. Spivey: This is actually a fantasy novella, and it’s #1 on my TBR this month. I just started reading it and here’s what I know so far: it’s about an engineer who has moved to a new town to start an apprenticeship; it has two points of view; the second point of view belongs to Bridget, who reminds me a lot of Lila Bard so far. It’s coming out in June, and you can expect a review of it closer to the release date.
  • Coming Up for Air by Miranda Kenneally: Coming Up for Air is #2 on my TBR. I don’t remember exactly what it’s about, but the main character is a swimmer who dedicates her time to nothing but her sport. I think this is the story of how she realizes there’s more to life than just swimming. It sounds like it’s gonna be really cute.
  • A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab: I’m buddy-reading this book with my twin. We started reading it a while ago, but I got busy with university and put this book on hold. Maybe this month we’ll get to read a bit more?
  • Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas: This is another book that I started months ago, this time by myself. I also put it on hold because I would get annoyed every few pages. All I want to do is read Chaol’s chapters. Is that too much to ask for? (Spoiler: Yes, it is.)
  • Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo: Ah, this book. I’ve owned the entire trilogy since 2015 and been meaning to read it for longer than that. Yet, for some reason, I haven’t. I have a habit of putting off reading books I want to read for fear that I won’t like them. But, if I get to all the other books on my TBR, I’m reading Shadow and Bone this month. I can’t keep putting it off any longer.

I hope you enjoyed this post! What was your favorite book in April? What book do you want to read the most this month?

5 thoughts on “April Wrap Up + May TBR

  1. This is awesome, I hope May will be a great reading month for you! I’m sorry to hear you didn’t like Better At Weddings Than You, I’ve really been wanting to read that one. The Traitor’s Tunnel by C.M. Spivey sounds so good, I can’t believe I haven’t heard of it *adds to TBR*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I hope May will be a great reading month for you, too. I’m sorry I didn’t like it too; I media that has to do with weddings, and I expected to end up with a new favorite book. But I just really didn’t like the characters. And I know, right? The Traitor’s Tunnel does sound amazing! I’d never found a fantasy novella before. What’s better is that people get to choose their gender, and gender neutral pronouns are used for strangers. There’s also a m/m couple.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

