Rapid Fire Book Tag

Hi, everyone! Kayla from kdrewkthebookworm tagged me to do the Rapid Fire Book Tag, so that’s what I’m doing today! This tag was created by GirlReading.

Questions:

EBooks or physical books?
Physical books for sure! I trend to gravitate towards my Kindle more than towards physical books it’s easier to carry around, but I have a better time reading physical books.

 

Paperbacks or hardbacks?
Paperbacks are my life. I mostly own hardcovers, but I struggle a lot with reading them. I put them down a lot and pick them back up for quite a while. Paperbacks, on the other hand, are so easy fun to read, especially when they’re floppy. I also have a habit of tapping the cover of a book with my nails while I read, which can get painful when it’s done on hardcovers.

 

Online or in-store book shopping?
Ideally, I would shop for books in-store. I don’t have a bookstore near me ever since Borders closed, so I do all of my book shopping online. I haven’t bought a book at a bookstore since January 2013.

 

Trilogies or series?
Trilogies are great; I’ve had more favorite trilogies than favorite series. But there’s just something so special about series… I don’t know, though. I love both series and trilogies equally.

 

Heroes or villains?
Depends on which heroes and villains we’re talking about. I love villains for sure. And heroes are obviously great. Some villains make no sense, though, and some heroes are annoying. I’m leaning a little bit towards villains but, at the end of the day, I’ll always love heroes.

A book you want everyone to read?
The Diviners by Libba Bray. That book is sooo good, yet not a lot of people talk about it. (I think everyone knows about it, but a lot of people haven’t read it.) Everyone should read it, though. It’s amazing and creepy.

 

Recommend an underrated book!
I can’t think of an underrated book… Most of the books I read and enjoy are well-known. SORRY. I need to give more love to underrated books.

 

The last book I finished:
I finished Girl out of Water last night. It was very cute. You can check out my review here.

 

Weirdest thing you have used as a bookmark?
I can’t remember for sure, but I think I once used hair as a bookmark? As in, actual hair that was attached to my head. I honestly don’t know if I actually did that because I have very vague images of it in my mind. Maybe it was a dream. Who knows? I usually only use actual bookmarks. Anything else I might use is only around for a few minutes until I can find a bookmark. I did use a receipt as a bookmark for about two months last semester. I was borrowing a book and didn’t have a bookmark in my dorm room, so I used a receipt that I got from a gas station.

 

Used books: yes or no?
Yes. I don’t have anywhere to get used books, but I wouldn’t mind having them as long as they were in decent conditions.

 

Top three favourite genres?
      1. YA Fantasy – I barely even read fantasy but I love it.
2. YA Contemporary – I used to say I didn’t like this genre, but it’s what I read the most.
3. …Memoirs? I don’t even know. I like listening to memoirs as audiobooks.

Borrow or buy?
I’d like to say “borrow” because how cool would it be to read books without 1) spending money on them and 2) committing to keep them on my bookshelves even if I don’t like them? But there are no libraries in my country (academic ones don’t count in this case) and most of my friends aren’t readers or don’t read the same books as me. (We don’t even read in the same language.)

 

Characters or plot?
Both are very important to me. Characters are the most important, but my enjoyment of a book heavily depends on the plot as well.

 

Long or short books?
Both! I tend to gravitate towards shorter books, but I also love longer books. They’re a struggle to get through, but they’re worth it.

 

Long or short chapters?
Short chapters for sure. I’m always counting down the pages until a chapter ends. With shorter chapters, a book doesn’t seem as daunting.

 

Name the first three books you think of:
The Diviners by Libba Bray
Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Books that make you laugh or cry?
Laugh… unless they make me cry of happiness. My heart has been broken my books way too many times already.

 

Our world or fictional worlds?
Fictional worlds. I don’t need to read about our world because I live here. ☺

 

Audiobooks: yes or no?
Only if they’re memoirs/non-fiction. I’ve listened to two fiction books on audiobook and didn’t particularly enjoy either of them.

 

Do you ever judge a book by its cover?
ALL. THE. TIME. I try not to buy books just because the covers are pretty, but it has happened before. I’ve also put off reading good books because the cover wasn’t up to my standards (but to be fair, I didn’t know they were good until after I read them).

 

Book to Movie or Book to TV adaptations?
Book to movie adaptations are my favorite. I don’t have the time to watch several TV adaptations of books! Movies tend to be more similar to the books than TV shows, anyway.

 

Series or standalones?
I prefer series because it takes a while for me to get attached to the characters. While reading standalones, I don’t get to care about the characters that much. That’s why it’s unusual for me to give 5 stars to a standalone.

That’s it for the Rapid Fire Book Tag! I hope you enjoyed this post! If you want, leave a comment with the first three books that come to your mind.

3 thoughts on “Rapid Fire Book Tag

  1. First three books that come to mind? Err…

    1. Shatter Me (bc too excited for the new books!)
    2. Coral and Bone (bc I’m currently reading it)
    3. The Color Project (bc I just saw some gorgeous pics on twitter haha)

    And that’s it. Great tag! I may…may not steal it for later 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

