“What Cats Do” Book Tag

Hi, everyone! Today I will be doing the “What Cats Do” book tag. This tag was created by Kate from meltingpotsandothercalamities and I was tagged to do it by Tiana from The Book Raven. I don’t actually have a cat (I’m more of a dog person), but I figured I’d do the tag anyway.

Here are the questions:

PURR: As cats do this when they’re happy or relaxed, what is the book that makes you happiest or relaxed?
The book that makes me the happiest is, hands down, Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli. I’ve read this book three times, I think, and I love it more and more every time I read it. It’s one of the most lighthearted books I’ve ever read, plus Simon and Blue represent two different parts of my personality so well. This is one of the books that I will love forever.

SLEEP: What is a book that put you to sleep or was just boring?
A book that I found really boring was Incarceron by Catherine Fisher. I read it because a friend of mine recommended it to me, but I did not care about the characters at all. There were two plots going on at once–one set in the past and one set in the future, if I remember correctly. The past and future aspect was the main reason I thought I would love this book, but nope. It was incredibly disappointing. Incarceron was my least favorite book of all time for a few years, until a classic came along and took its place. More on that later, though.

TWITCH WHILE DREAMING: Have you ever dreamt of a book you read?
Yes, I have! I think I’ve dreamt about many books, although I don’t remember most of them. The most recent dream I’ve had involving a book had to do with Queen Levana, from The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. But I don’t remember anything that happened in the dream, except that she was there.

SEEMS TO PLAY NICE… UNTIL THE CLAWS ARE OUT: Which book had the biggest plot twist(s)?
I’ve never actually read a book that had a huge plot twist… I either see them coming from a mile away or notice after they’ve happened how predictable they actually were. But if I had to pick one with a big plot twist, I’d pick The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan. Now that’s something you wouldn’t expect a writer to do to his characters.

CUDDLES: Which book character would you give a hug to?
Let’s be real, I would hug a lot of characters! But the main one is Cress from The Lunar Chroniclesaka one of the book versions of myself (minus the hacking. I’m not that cool). She’s so cute and innocent and just wants to be free and have friends. I would hug her and be her friend; she deserves the world.

CATNIP: What’s a book that made you have warm and fuzzy feelings?
I didn’t want to repeat any answers, but Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is the best answer for this. It’s so cute and adorable! It’s impossible not to feel warm and fuzzy while reading it.

CAT BREEDS: What are your favorite books?
I don’t have a set favorite book, but my go-to answer for this question is usually Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda (yes, again!), Hamilton: The Revolution and Cress. For some reason I always put off reading the books that I think I will like, so I don’t have more favorite books to add to the list. Some of my old favorites (which I have to reread to see if I still love them) are The Infernal Devices and Shatter Me.

GETTING THE CAT: How did you find your favorite book(s)?
I found all of them through the recommendations of other people on social media (except for Hamilton, which I found because, well, I love Hamilton).

THE VET’S OFFICE: Your least favorite book.
My least favorite book is one of the books I feel the guiltiest for not liking… That book is The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. I got this book as a Christmas gift from one of my friends a few years ago, and I was hoping I would love it (I did ask for it, after all). However, I ended up disliking it so, so much. I wasn’t expecting it to be so flowery and uneventful. Even though I wasn’t enjoying it at all, I forced myself to finish it and ended up in a reading slump for an entire year. (I’m technically out of that reading slump, but I think it still affects me in some ways.)

BEING IN PLACES THEY SHOULDN’T: Least favorite cliché.
“YOU’RE NOT LIKE OTHER GIRLS.” This is unnecessary and implies other girls are bad, which they are not. Girls are amazing. (There are other clichés that I don’t like, but this one is at the top of the least. I also really dislike the whole “good girl, bad boy” thing most of the time.)

THE GOOD OLD CARDBOARD BOX: Most underrated book series.
For this final question, I am going with The Diviners by Libba Bray. I’ve only read the first book but I loved it. The romance was not good at all, but almost everything else was really good. Clearly this series is underrated, since it just had its second cover change (and they only get worse and worse with time). It’s a little creepy and has a cool cast of characters. I think many people would enjoy this series.

That’s it for the “What Cats Do” Book Tag! Have you read any of the books I mentioned? If so, which one was your favorite? And which one was your least favorite?

I tag: LivLilivetteAmy and anyone else who wants to do this tag.

6 thoughts on ““What Cats Do” Book Tag

  1. Usually when I get asked my least favorite cliche/trope, I automatically default to the love triangle, but I think what’s been getting me lately is that whole YOU’RE NOT LIKE OTHER GIRLS trope. It drives me insane. If you’re in a sea of not-like-other-girls book landscape…you kind of are like other girls, lol. AND YES TO CRESS. She is literally the sweetest, and I would definitely want to give a hug to her too. Wonderful tag! It was so much fun to read your answers. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ” If you’re in a sea of not-like-other-girls book landscape…you kind of are like other girls, lol.” I love this comment. It is so true, haha. I think the “not-like-other-girls” type of girl is way more common in YA books than the actual “other girls.”

      And thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

