ARC Review: It Happened on Love Street by Lia Riley

Title: It Happened on Love Street (Everland #1)It Happened on Love Street (Everland #1)

Author: Lia Riley
Genre: Romance

Publication date: April 25, 2017
Purchase links: Kindle Edition | Mass Market Paperback

Rating: N/A

Distinctive qualities: N/A

Summary:

The most romantic place she never wanted to be . . .

Pepper Knight moved to Everland, Georgia, as step one in her plan for a successful legal career. But after this big-city gal’s plans go awry, going home with her tail between her legs isn’t an option. So when the town vet-and her sexy new neighbor-offers Pepper a temporary dog-walking job, she jumps at the chance. No one needs to know that man’s best friend is her worst nightmare . . . or that Everland’s hot animal whisperer leaves her panting.

The last thing Rhett Valentine wants is to be the center of small-town gossip. After his first love left him at the altar, he’s been there, done that. These days, life is simple, just the way he likes it. But sultry southern nights get complicated once sparks fly between him and the knockout next door. When she proposes a sexy, secret fling-all the deliciousness and none of the prying neighbors-it seems too good to be true. And it is. Because Pepper’s determined to leave Love Street, and when she goes, she just might take his heart with her . . .

Review:

Thanks to Lia Riley and Netgalley for providing me with an ARC of It Happened on Love Street!

DNF at 7%.

I found out about It Happened on Love Street when I quoted someone’s tweet about a book and said something among the lines of, “For a moment there, I thought this was about a veterinarian. Now I need a book about a veterinarian.” She directed me to this book, and I was instantly interested in reading it (even if the plot about a veterinarian that I had in mind was very different than the plot of this book).

My decision to stop reading is 100% a case of “it’s not you, it’s me.” Judging by the fact that yesterday I also gave up on a book without even reading 10% of it, it’s safe to say that I am in a dreaded reading slump.

It Happened on Love Street starts with Pepper arriving in Everland, Georgia for a work opportunity. She gets lost, has a scary encounter with a dog, talks to some children and is off on her way. That is just the start of a bad day, though, because after relocating from Manhattan to Everland, she finds out her job offer was revoked and she was never notified of it.

I only read two full chapters and the beginning of the third, but here’s what I know: there’s two points of view, Pepper’s and Rhett’s; Pepper is only in Everland temporarily; Rhett does not want love after having a bad experience with it; Pepper has a great relationship with her sister; and Rhett’s mother passed away and he has no relationship with his father after he turned down a prestigious university and chose to pursue a career as a veterinarian.

All of this would be interesting to me if: a) it didn’t take place in a small town in the south, which I don’t particularly enjoy and b) it were possible for any book to hold my attention right now. I’m hoping to return to this book once I’m out of this slump and in the mood for a romance story, but it’s gonna go unfinished for now.

Leave a Reply

