Top 5 Wednesday: 2017 Goals

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes. This week’s topic is 2017 Goals. This can be personal goals, bookish goals, Booktube/book blog/Bookstagram goals, etc. I will be focusing on bookish and book blog goals.

  1. The first of my goals is the amount of books I will read this year (also known as the Goodreads reading challenge). Officially, I want to read 25 books. Unofficially, I am aiming for 50 books. The reason I am not setting my Goodreads goal at the amount of books I want to read, at least at first, is because seeing the number on my Goodreads profile stresses me and makes me feel like reading less. 2017 is a year in which I plan to read a lot of fantasy books, which take me some time to read, and I’m taking more classes at university than ever before. Keeping the number low makes me feel more confident about my ability to finish the challenge, and it makes me want to read more.
  2. The next of my goals is to post on this blog one or two times a week. I want to get more practice talking about books, so I can eventually express my thoughts about them eloquently (oh please, please, please) and in more depth. For this goal, I am using the 2017 Book Blogger’s Planner. I printed the month of January and planned my posts for the entire month on the same day. It’s safe to safe it has been very useful so far. ☺
  3. My next goal is to participate in Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge 2017. Most of the books I want to read in 2017 are fantasy. What better way to keep motivated than by joining a fantasy reading challenge?
  4. My fourth goal is to write at least 10 reviews. Again, this is so I can learn to talk about books more in-depth and more critically.
  5. I also want to finish or catch up on 10 book series; I have way too many series to start or finish! The more I read in 2017, the better.
  6. My last bookish goal for now is to buy no more than 20 books in 2017, ebooks and audiobooks included (goodbye, Audible daily deals). I have too many books on my TBR already but, more importantly, I want to spend less money on books. I usually forgo buying things I need in order to buy books, which I don’t need. That ends in 2017.I hope you enjoyed this post! Do you have any goals for 2017, bookish or otherwise?
Leave a Reply

