December Wrap Up

Hey there! I can barely believe 2016 is over. This year flew by so quickly; each year it feels like time is flying by at a higher speed. I didn’t read a lot at the end of December, but I did manage to finish seven books. That makes December my best reading month of 2016. I actually managed to read three out of five books on my TBR, which was unexpected (I didn’t know I could stick to TBRs). Anyway, without further ado, here are all the books I read in December:

30209275137225133119315531315977272065271789935115798673

  1. The first book I finished was one that I started in November, but I did listen to half of it in December. Said book was In the Country We Love by Diane GuerreroIn the Country We Love is Diane’s story of living in the United States with undocumented immigrants parents, every moment of their never-ending battle to gain citizenship and remain in the country, their deportation, and the effects being separated had on them as a family and as individuals. The aspects of the book that dealt with immigration and being undocumented were the most impactful for me; I imagined gaining citizenship was a difficult process, but I had no idea how impossible the US government makes it for undocumented families to enter or remain in the United States legally. It is appalling to me that the government tears families apart and ruins lives with such ease, and treats people like less than human for being born in a country that is not the US. Unfortunately, I found myself feeling annoyed all the time while reading the book due to Diane’s self-obsessed nature. (One example: after she became an actress, she resented her father for wanting to return to the United States. That is, until he told her he didn’t want to return to have a better life. No, he would gladly live in poverty if it meant getting to see Diane live a good life.) I’m sorry, but I can’t feel sorry for her when she went around hurting her family and friends, and getting mad at them when they tried to talk about their feelings with her. There were many other things I disliked about this book (such as racially stereotyping everyone except Diane herself), but I would like to move on from this book now.Rating: ★★★★★
  2. The second book I read in December was Cinder by Marissa Meyer. As most people know by now, Cinder is a sci-fi retelling of Cinderella. I was expecting this story to blow me away with its uniqueness but it was, truthfully, quite predictable. There was nothing surprising about Cinder, and barely anything new, but the few things that were original made the book enjoyable for me. I could barely stop reading, I enjoyed a lot of the characters and hated others, and had a really good time reading. Now that the world is established, I feel like the sequels have a lot of potential to be better. I will definitely be reading the next book soon.Rating: ★★★★
  3. The next book I read was The Melody of You and Me by M. Hollis. This story is about nothing because there is no plot. I don’t have anything to say other than it was boring and a total disappointment.Rating: ★★★★★
  4. The fourth book I read was Something for the Weekend by Natasha West. It follows two teachers who meet every year at a teacher conference, and develop a relationship that is not quite friendship, not quite romance. This was another that was a disappointment for me. We saw the women for three days every year, and every time there was relationship drama (not with each other, but with their respective couples) and a misunderstanding that led to them getting angry with each other. Besides that, and the fact that they were teachers, I really didn’t get to know them at all. All I knew was that one of them was a PE teacher, another was an English teacher, and their respective relationships always went wrong. The premise of the book was interesting, but it failed in its execution.Rating: ★★★★★
  5. Next, I read Cherry by Lindsey Rosin. I bought this book while only good things were being said about it, so my expectations were really high. It was supposed to be really sex-positive, but the positivity only extended to the main characters. That was disappointing. Cherry was somewhat entertaining, but I didn’t find it original or remotely good, as was promised.Rating: ★★★★★
  6. The sixth book I read was The Diviners by Libba Bray. This was actually one of the first books I started in  December. However, I was staying alone in my dorm room at the time and it took me hours to fall asleep every night I read anything from the book, so I took it back home. I picked it up again when the semester ended and I was back home. It did not disappoint. It’s about a girl who is sent to live with her uncle in New York City and gets involved in a murder investigation. There’s a lot of talk about religion, so this story is not for everyone, but I personally loved it. I really enjoyed Evie’s character; she was a girl with too much personality for one body, who was thought of as scandalous by everybody and was definitely annoying a lot of the time… She. was. great. I hated the main romance, though. A LOT. 

    Rating: ★★★★

  7. The seventh and last book I finished in December was one I expected to cry my eyes out to while listening to it. I didn’t. That book was A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. It’s about a boy, Conor, who gets visited by a monster that wants to tells him three stories. In return, Conor must tell him one story. It’s a really sad book, but I had trouble getting into the story for the first half of it. I think the problem was that I didn’t really like the narration, and so I kept getting distracted. I might have enjoyed it more if I had read the paperback instead.Rating: ★★★★★

That is it for my December wrap up! I didn’t read every single book I planned to read (I wanted to finish More Happy Than Not and start Scarlet), but I did read more than I did any other month of the year. That in itself is pretty satisfying. What books did you read in December?

Leave a Reply

