Top 5 Wednesday: Books You Want to Finally Read in 2017

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes. This week’s topic is a very exciting one: Books You Want to Finally Read in 2017. I want to focus on reading series next year, especially those I have already started. As such, you’ll only see books that are part of a series on this list.

  1. 18006496The first books I want to read in 2017 are… *drumroll* Queen of Shadows and Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas. I started reading this series around summer of 2015, and I still haven’t caught up on all the books that are out. After Heir of Fire, I’m not sure how I feel about the series. I want to read the next two books so I can have a more clear idea of whether I like it or not. Additionally, the last book in the series releases next year, and I would like to be able to read it without knowing any spoilers.

 

2.25494343 The next book I want to read is Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare. The first book in The Dark Artifices was among my top three most anticipated books of 2016, and yet I’ve made no effort to read it yet. I have loved Emma and Julian as characters since their existence was announced (before City of Heavenly Fire even came out). It’s about time I read the book. And in 2017, it is happening.

3.13722513 Another series I want to read is The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. This series is one I’ve been anticipating for months; even more so when I heard there was a lot of racial diversity among the characters. I own every book in the series except for Fairest, and so I want to read the entire series next year.

4. 20764879Next is A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab. I read A Darker Shade of Magic this year and liked it enough. I want to see what Kell gets up to next, and the sequel comes out in February. Getting to finish the whole series next year would be great.

5. 12954620Last but not least is Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes. I own the first four books in the series but haven’t read any of them. (Shameful!) The fifth book comes out in six days and the last book comes out next year… Oh, and I also own the first two books in the spin-off series, A Book of Spirits and Thieves. I plan to read both series in their entirety next year.

You can check out the full list of books I want to read in 2017, here.

Leave a comment saying what books you’d like to read in 2017 (or leave a link to your own post)! I’d love to know.

Leave a Reply

