Hayley Kiyoko Book Tag

Hi! Today I will be doing the Hayley Kiyoko book tag, which was created by my dear friend Olivia, over at Olivia Chanel’s Galaxy of Books. In case you don’t know her, Hayley Kiyoko is a singer and actress, possibly best known for playing Stella Yamada in Lemonade Mouth.

A Belle to Remember: A Character You Will Always Remember

I have to go with both Simon and Blue from Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli. The one of the biggest reasons I love them is because I feel like they are a two halves of me. Simon represents one part of my personality, and Blue represents another. Reading about them felt like I was reading about myself and for that, I will always remember them.

Rich Youth: A Character that Keeps on Fighting Despite the Obstacles They’ve Faced

Lila Bard from the Shades of Magic trilogy by V.E. Schwab is definitely a fighter. I’ve only read the first book, but it was enough to know that Lila fights for what she wants, no matter the cost. She’s had a terrible life, but that doesn’t stop her from going after what she wants. If anything, every obstacle makes her push forward even more.

This Side of Paradise: A Character with Bad Luck

I could pick any character from As I Descended by Robin Talley for this. All of them have terrible luck. However, I’m going to pick Maria. Her bad luck doesn’t start until after she plays with a Ouija board, but things quickly go downhill from there. Everything Maria wants turns out the opposite of how she plans it, and she starts to lose herself with every thing that goes wrong. If Maria’s luck isn’t rotten, I don’t want to know what bad luck looks like.

Girls Like Girls: A Book With a F/F Ship

As I Descended has a F/F ship, but I want to talk about Dirty London by Kelley York. Dirty London is about a girl who finds out one of the most popular guys at the school is gay, like her, and they become close friends. They are both closeted, so people think they are dating and start slut-shaming London. Dirty London is a novella, so it’s really quick and fun. Plus, the ship is adorable.

Cliff’s Edge: A Ship That Has Had a Lot of Ups and Downs

Do Mina and Sophie from Far from You by Tess Sharpe count? I mean, one of them dies in the first chapter. They definitely had more downs than ups, but they had their good moments. And they would have had so many more if they’d had more time together.

Gravel to Tempo: A Female Character Who Finally Embraces Who She Is

For this song, I will pick Lola Nolan from Lola and the Boy Next Door. Lola knows who she is from the very beginning, but somewhere along the way she begins to reject herself as a way to cope with the things happening to and around her. She manages to recover her identity and embrace it wholeheartedly, which is exactly what this song is about.

Thanks for reading! I hope you enjoyed the Hayley Kiyoko book tag. If you did and want to do it too, consider yourself tagged. If anyone else has done this tag, link me to your post. I’d love to read it. 

Leave a Reply

